When is Considered Necessary to Replace Your Car Window?
Do you need to replace your car window? The answer to that question really isn’t up to you. You see, all states have laws dictating when it is considered necessary to replace your car window. This includes here in California. A damaged windshield on your car can lead to all kinds of hazardous situations, both for you and the other drivers on the road.
Impaired vision is not the only reason why you should replace your broken or damaged car windshield. An undamaged windshield is stronger. In an accident, it can prevent further injuries. In the event of a rollover crash, you need as much strength and protection as possible. The strength of the windshield/sealant system is designed to keep the roof from crushing more than five inches when there is a force of approx 1-1/2 times the weight of the vehicle on the roof. The windshield/sealant system is also designed to keep at least 50% of the glass sealed to the car, which could keep you and your front seat passenger from being ejected. This is why California traffic laws do not permit driving with a damaged windshield.
Don’t Drive With a Cracked Windshield!
A cracked front or back windshield can get you a citation, regardless of crack size or position. California’s Vehicle Code (VC) Section 26710 says, “It is unlawful to operate any motor vehicle upon a highway when the windshield or rear window is in such a defective condition as to impair the driver’s vision either to the front or rear.
In the event any windshield or rear window fails to comply with this code the officer making the inspection shall direct the driver to make the windshield and rear window conform to the requirements of this code within 48 hours. The officer may also arrest the driver and give him notice to appear and further require the driver or the owner of the vehicle to produce in court satisfactory evidence that the windshield or rear window has been made to conform to the requirements of this code.”
What does this mean, in layman’s terms? Not only do you have to replace your car window, you have to do it really quickly if a police officer stops you for it. You only have 48 hours!
North Coast Auto Glass can Replace Your Car Window
That time frame is no problem when you come to us for help. If the crack on your windshield is less than three inches in length, or if you have a small chip which is smaller than the size of a quarter, our team may be able to repair your windshield instead of totally replacing it. Either way, we will ensure your windshield is back to pristine condition and legal again. Remember, having a cracked windshield is not only dangerous, but in California it is also illegal.